Get Adobe Flash player
"Beloved, I
pray that you may prosper in all things and be in health, just as your soul prospers."
3 John 2
Service Times
Sunday School: 9:00AM
Worship Service: 10:00AM
Wednesday Programs: 7:00PM
- Youth Group
- Adult Bible Study
- Cross Trainers
  (Grade School)
02/17: The Law Cannot Be Broken, Pt 2
02/10: The Law Cannot Be Broken




Your Daily Sword
419.965.2112    »    204 E Carmean Street Ohio City, Ohio 45874
To sign-up to receive Your Daily
Sword, enter your email address.

Previous Daily Sword Inspirations:

Friday, December 16, 2011
Thursday, December 15, 2011
Wednesday, December 14, 2011
Tuesday, December 13, 2011
Friday, December 9, 2011
Thursday, December 8, 2011
Wednesday, December 7, 2011
Tuesday, December 6, 2011
Friday, December 2, 2011
Thursday, December 1, 2011
Wednesday, November 30, 2011
Tuesday, November 29, 2011
Monday, November 28, 2011
Monday, November 14, 2011
Friday, November 11, 2011
Thursday, November 10, 2011
Wednesday, November 9, 2011
Tuesday, November 8, 2011
Monday, November 7, 2011
Friday, November 4, 2011
Thursday, November 3, 2011
Wednesday, November 2, 2011
Monday, October 31, 2011
Friday, October 28, 2011
Thursday, October 27, 2011
Wednesday, October 26, 2011
Monday, October 24, 2011
Friday, October 21, 2011
Thursday, October 20, 2011
Wednesday, October 19, 2011
Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Monday, October 17, 2011

Monday, October 17, 2011

Ephesians 6:14a, 17
Stand firm.......... Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.


Proverbs 21:9
9: It is better to live on a corner of a roof than in a house shared with a contentious woman.

I have always thought this was kind of a funny passage of scripture. I use it once in a while just to have a little fun with my wife. Now, let me say, my wife is not contentious. If she were, I would not get a chuckle out of this. If you have ever had to deal with a contentious person you know there is nothing funny about it. I totally understand this verse applied to all contentious people. When you have to be around them for any period of time you would be happy to live on the corner of a roof, exposed to all of the elements, with the danger of falling off and getting hurt as opposed to having to deal with all of their negativity, criticism general displeasure with everything that does not suit them.

The definition of contentious is: tending to argument or strife; quarrelsome; always opposing

One of the definitions of a contentious person is one who stirs up strife. Proverbs gives us three traits of a person who stirs up strife or contention.

Proverbs 15:18
18: A wrathful man stirs up strife, But he who is slow to anger allays contention.

A person who is wrathful wants to take out their failures and shortcomings on others. They are going to look to place fault and blame on those who do not deserve it. Do you think that could cause strife?

Proverbs 28:25
25: He who is of a proud heart stirs up strife, But he who trusts in the Lord will be prospered.

A person who has a proud heart wants to elevate themselves so they will not take responsibility for any failure they may have. They will look to tear others down so that they can be elevated. When you treat people like this do you think if might cause some strife?

Proverbs 29:22
22: An angry man stirs up strife, And a furious man abounds in transgression.

A person that is angry stirs up strife because they want everyone else to hurt and be miserable like they are, that way their life does not seem so dysfunctional. Do you think a dysfunctional person who wants to make others miserable like themselves could stir up strife?

Contentious people direct their anger outwardly but they do this because of what is inside of them. They direct criticism outward in order to make themselves feel better. Don't fall into their trap. If you find yourself dealing with a contentious person, know that all of the anger and criticism etc. is their problem, not yours. Contentious people are easy to spot. They are not people who are unhappy once in a while, they always have something critical so say, nothing ever seems to satisfy them. Don't fall into the trap of trying respond to their complaints so they will happy. It can't be done. You may not need to live on the corner of a roof to avoid a contentious but you do need to distance yourself from them. They cannot be helped from the outside. They are spiritually and emotionally sick. They need prayer and healing.

If you find yourself being contentious, get help. IT IS A YOU PROBLEM and you need healing on the inside. The bottom line is that it needs to be dealt with because God detest it!

Proverbs 6:16-19
16: There are six things the Lord hates, seven that are detestable to him:
17: haughty eyes, a lying tongue, hands that shed innocent blood,
18: a heart that devises wicked schemes, feet that are quick to rush into evil,
19: a false witness who pours out lies and a man who stirs up dissension (this is the same Hebrew word translated strife & contention) among brothers.

Join us on Facebook!Ohio City Community Church of God facebook
© Ohio City Community Church of God, Copyright 2019