Get Adobe Flash player
"For I know the plans
I have for you," declares the Lord, "plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future."
Jeremiah 29:11
Service Times
Sunday School: 9:00AM
Worship Service: 10:00AM
Wednesday Programs: 7:00PM
- Youth Group
- Adult Bible Study
- Cross Trainers
  (Grade School)
6/16: What Was Spoken By The Prophet Joel
6/2: Don’t Leave Home Without It




Your Daily Sword
419.965.2112    »    204 E Carmean Street Ohio City, Ohio 45874
To sign-up to receive Your Daily
Sword, enter your email address.

Previous Daily Sword Inspirations:

Friday, December 16, 2011
Thursday, December 15, 2011
Wednesday, December 14, 2011
Tuesday, December 13, 2011
Friday, December 9, 2011
Thursday, December 8, 2011
Wednesday, December 7, 2011
Tuesday, December 6, 2011
Friday, December 2, 2011
Thursday, December 1, 2011
Wednesday, November 30, 2011
Tuesday, November 29, 2011
Monday, November 28, 2011
Monday, November 14, 2011
Friday, November 11, 2011
Thursday, November 10, 2011
Wednesday, November 9, 2011
Tuesday, November 8, 2011
Monday, November 7, 2011
Friday, November 4, 2011
Thursday, November 3, 2011
Wednesday, November 2, 2011
Monday, October 31, 2011
Friday, October 28, 2011
Thursday, October 27, 2011
Wednesday, October 26, 2011
Monday, October 24, 2011
Friday, October 21, 2011
Thursday, October 20, 2011
Wednesday, October 19, 2011
Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Monday, October 17, 2011

Friday, October 21, 2011

Ephesians 6:14a, 17
Stand firm.......... Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.


John 1:1-3, 14
1: In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.
2: He was with God in the beginning.
3: Through him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made.......
14: The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us. We have seen his glory, the glory of the One and Only, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth.

Let's sort this out. Since this is a short devotional we will not get into the Greek of this passage and go back to the Hebrew of the creation account. Lets look instead at the structure of the first sentence. "In the beginning was the word. This sounds like an incorrect verb tense. What is being denoted is that the Word has always been. Beginning here actually means that the Word has always been and so we see the past tense, "was" used in this verse. Whatever point in time you can mark, the Word existed before that. "The Word was with God". We know God is eternal therefore the Word is eternal. Not only was the Word with God, "the Word was God". Again the Word is eternal and is one with God. It makes sense then that in verse 2 we see the Word referred to as "He". The word is a personal being just as God is. This Word that is person and one with God is also the maker of all things. There is nothing that exist that was not made by Him. Wait a minute. I thought God was creator. Remember, the Word is one with God. This Word that is a personal being, creator and one with God became flesh, human, and lived among mankind. There is only one person that fits all of these descriptions and that is Jesus. How can Jesus be creator when in Genesis we see God creating? How did God create? He spoke. With what do you speak? Words.

Col 1:13-17
13: For he (Jesus) has rescued us from the dominion of darkness and brought us into the kingdom of the Son he loves,
14: in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins.
15: He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation.
16: For by him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things were created by him and for him.
17: He is before all things, and in him all things hold together.

In verse 13 we see that it is God's Son that is being discussed. It goes on to tell us that God's Son, Jesus, is the image of God. The next statement is that Jesus is the first-born over all creation. I am not sure why many versions of the Bible translate this passage using first-born. According to "Strong's" the greek here is meant to denote preeminent rank or supremacy of position. It appears that the translators try to capture this when they translate, "he is the first-born over all creation. Verse 16 says what John 1:3 says, Jesus is creator.

So how can all of this be? Remember God is a a three part being. The Father, Son and Holy Spirit were all present at and were all active members of the creative act. God the Father spoke, Jesus was the Word that He spoke and Holy Spirit was the active agent of creation, the doer of the Godhead because we see repeatedly that the power aspect of God is Holy Spirit. Wherever we see the power of God at work we see Holy Spirit.

We started by seeing that Jesus was the Word and the Word and God are one and the same. Consider what Hebrews says about how God speaks (word) to us.

Hebrews 1:1-3
1: In the past God spoke to our forefathers through the prophets at many times and in various ways,
2: but in these last days he has spoken to us by his Son, whom he appointed heir of all things, and through whom he made the universe.
3: The Son is the radiance of God's glory and the exact representation of his being, sustaining all things by his powerful word. After he had provided purification for sins, he sat down at the right hand of the Majesty in heaven.

Join us on Facebook!Ohio City Community Church of God facebook
© Ohio City Community Church of God, Copyright 2019