Get Adobe Flash player
"For I know the plans
I have for you," declares the Lord, "plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future."
Jeremiah 29:11
Service Times
Sunday School: 9:00AM
Worship Service: 10:00AM
Wednesday Programs: 7:00PM
- Youth Group
- Adult Bible Study
- Cross Trainers
  (Grade School)
6/16: What Was Spoken By The Prophet Joel
6/2: Don’t Leave Home Without It




Your Daily Sword
419.965.2112    »    204 E Carmean Street Ohio City, Ohio 45874
To sign-up to receive Your Daily
Sword, enter your email address.

Previous Daily Sword Inspirations:

Friday, December 16, 2011
Thursday, December 15, 2011
Wednesday, December 14, 2011
Tuesday, December 13, 2011
Friday, December 9, 2011
Thursday, December 8, 2011
Wednesday, December 7, 2011
Tuesday, December 6, 2011
Friday, December 2, 2011
Thursday, December 1, 2011
Wednesday, November 30, 2011
Tuesday, November 29, 2011
Monday, November 28, 2011
Monday, November 14, 2011
Friday, November 11, 2011
Thursday, November 10, 2011
Wednesday, November 9, 2011
Tuesday, November 8, 2011
Monday, November 7, 2011
Friday, November 4, 2011
Thursday, November 3, 2011
Wednesday, November 2, 2011
Monday, October 31, 2011
Friday, October 28, 2011
Thursday, October 27, 2011
Wednesday, October 26, 2011
Monday, October 24, 2011
Friday, October 21, 2011
Thursday, October 20, 2011
Wednesday, October 19, 2011
Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Monday, October 17, 2011

Friday, October 28, 2011

Ephesians 6:14a, 17
Stand firm.......... Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.


Hebrews 6:1-2
1: Therefore let us leave the elementary teachings about Christ and go on to maturity, not laying again the foundation of repentance from acts that lead to death, and of faith in God,
2: instruction about baptisms, the laying on of hands, the resurrection of the dead, and eternal judgment.

Several weeks ago I taught on the practice of the laying on of hands and I stressed how few Christians know or understand what the Bible has to say about it. The writer of Hebrews says this is a foundational teaching and we should have moved past this and on to solid food and get off of baby's milk (Hebrews 5:12-14). God may consider this teaching to be foundational yet many Christians who have been in church for decades view this teaching as very advanced. Is it any wonder the church, for the most part, is very ineffective.

I loved my daughters response to this teaching. She came up to me afterwards and said, "I can't wait to hear the elementary teaching on raising the dead". You may be a little taken aback to think of raising the dead as an elementary teaching but Hebrews 6:2 does refer to the resurrection of the dead as a foundational teaching. While the resurrection of the dead is not necessarily the same as raising the dead, why would one be more difficult than the other. Jesus did not treat the raising of the dead as some monumentally difficult task. He often simply said, "get up" or Lazarus, come out". The magnitude of raising the dead is in our minds. How is it more difficult for the God who spoke the universe into existence to speak to the dead to live again than it is for God to save a person that has the freedom to exercise their own will to live life as they choose and not submit to Jesus' Lordship? People that asked Jesus to forgive and save them believe that He does it. Many believe they are so secure they cannot loose their salvation even though they disobey God at various points during the remainder of their lives. Psalm 107:20 says, "he sent forth his word and healed them". If God can speak to the physical realm in order to create and it obeys Him, why is that more difficult than speaking to humans who have free will? Most Christians are not surprised when they pray for someone to be healed and they do not get better but they get upset with God when they pray for their son to get off drugs or for their spouse to be saved so their marriage will not fall apart and there seems to be no response from God. I propose to you that if we understood the elementary teachings of scripture we would realize that getting a human to repent and be saved is more difficult than raising the dead. The issue is not what God is capable of but what are we capable of believing and accepting.

If we find ourselves failing to mature the way we know God wants us to, then starting today we need to begin to act on becoming more adult in our understanding of God, His Word and His involvement in our lives and in this world. Let us leave the elementary teachings and go on to maturity!

Join us on Facebook!Ohio City Community Church of God facebook
© Ohio City Community Church of God, Copyright 2019