Get Adobe Flash player
"And my God will meet
all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus."
Philippians 4:19
Service Times
Sunday School: 9:00AM
Worship Service: 10:00AM
Wednesday Programs: 7:00PM
- Youth Group
- Adult Bible Study
- Cross Trainers
  (Grade School)
02/17: The Law Cannot Be Broken, Pt 2
02/10: The Law Cannot Be Broken




Your Daily Sword
419.965.2112    »    204 E Carmean Street Ohio City, Ohio 45874
To sign-up to receive Your Daily
Sword, enter your email address.

Previous Daily Sword Inspirations:

Friday, December 16, 2011
Thursday, December 15, 2011
Wednesday, December 14, 2011
Tuesday, December 13, 2011
Friday, December 9, 2011
Thursday, December 8, 2011
Wednesday, December 7, 2011
Tuesday, December 6, 2011
Friday, December 2, 2011
Thursday, December 1, 2011
Wednesday, November 30, 2011
Tuesday, November 29, 2011
Monday, November 28, 2011
Monday, November 14, 2011
Friday, November 11, 2011
Thursday, November 10, 2011
Wednesday, November 9, 2011
Tuesday, November 8, 2011
Monday, November 7, 2011
Friday, November 4, 2011
Thursday, November 3, 2011
Wednesday, November 2, 2011
Monday, October 31, 2011
Friday, October 28, 2011
Thursday, October 27, 2011
Wednesday, October 26, 2011
Monday, October 24, 2011
Friday, October 21, 2011
Thursday, October 20, 2011
Wednesday, October 19, 2011
Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Monday, October 17, 2011

Monday, November 7, 2011

Ephesians 6:14a, 17
Stand firm.......... Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.


Proverbs 16:1-3
1: To man belong the plans of the heart, but from the Lord comes the reply of the tongue.
2: All a man's ways seem innocent to him, but motives are weighed by the Lord.
3: Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and your plans will succeed.

I LOVE PROVERBS! Provers is what is known as wisdom literature and indeed it is. I believe the beauty in the wisdom of Proverbs is found the its simple yet powerful truths it communicates. I think most that would read a passage such as Proverbs 16:1-3 would agree that the words that make up the sentences are simplistic but the power of those simple words come when we stop to meditate on the implications of what is being said. Let's break down this passage.

Verse 1: Each person has their own ideas of what they desire in life. If they had their way, what would they want their lives to be, what would they do and what is it they want out of life. The plans of our heart might be ours but the answer as to whether of not those plans will be fulfilled are up to God. God either says yes or no to our plans based on His divine plan.

Verse 2: The plans that we make seem innocent or right to us. We do not see ourselves as making poor plans because they are what we desire. We desire good for ourselves. God sees our plans and determines whether they are acceptable or unacceptable based not on the plan but on the motivation of the heart that made the plan. Was the motivation selfish or service oriented. Did those plans care about how our desires might negatively affect others or just that we want our desires met. God does not look at our actions to determine their acceptability, He examines the motivation behind those actions.

Verse 3: if we commit our plans to the Lord then they will not be self centered plans, they will be godly plans. By committing them to God we give Him permission to change our plans and show us where we are missing the mark in our way of thinking or our motives. When we do this our plans will succeed because the plans we are pursuing are not our plans based on our self centered desires, they are God's plans and God's plan always come to pass.

Join us on Facebook!Ohio City Community Church of God facebook
© Ohio City Community Church of God, Copyright 2019