Get Adobe Flash player
"And my God will meet
all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus."
Philippians 4:19
Service Times
Sunday School: 9:00AM
Worship Service: 10:00AM
Wednesday Programs: 7:00PM
- Youth Group
- Adult Bible Study
- Cross Trainers
  (Grade School)
6/16: What Was Spoken By The Prophet Joel
6/2: Don’t Leave Home Without It




Your Daily Sword
419.965.2112    »    204 E Carmean Street Ohio City, Ohio 45874
To sign-up to receive Your Daily
Sword, enter your email address.

Previous Daily Sword Inspirations:

Friday, December 16, 2011
Thursday, December 15, 2011
Wednesday, December 14, 2011
Tuesday, December 13, 2011
Friday, December 9, 2011
Thursday, December 8, 2011
Wednesday, December 7, 2011
Tuesday, December 6, 2011
Friday, December 2, 2011
Thursday, December 1, 2011
Wednesday, November 30, 2011
Tuesday, November 29, 2011
Monday, November 28, 2011
Monday, November 14, 2011
Friday, November 11, 2011
Thursday, November 10, 2011
Wednesday, November 9, 2011
Tuesday, November 8, 2011
Monday, November 7, 2011
Friday, November 4, 2011
Thursday, November 3, 2011
Wednesday, November 2, 2011
Monday, October 31, 2011
Friday, October 28, 2011
Thursday, October 27, 2011
Wednesday, October 26, 2011
Monday, October 24, 2011
Friday, October 21, 2011
Thursday, October 20, 2011
Wednesday, October 19, 2011
Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Monday, October 17, 2011

Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Ephesians 6:14a, 17
Stand firm.......... Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.


John 14:15
15: "If you love me, you will obey what I command.

Yesterday I addressed the fact that we can examine our lives in order to find out whether or not we have been born-again so that the title of "Christian" is appropriate when applied to our lives. Jesus said in Matthew 7 that good, godly fruit can only come from one type of person and that is a person that is good and godly. As I noted, we cannot become good or godly on our own. We must be changed by the power of God when we are born-again and He places His Spirit inside of us. If God saves us then we must be changed and that change is not optional. When God causes His Spirit to live in a person so that they are a new creation then that person will be empowered to love as God loves and will have a desire to obey God's commands. To obey God's commands to synonymous with loving God. There is no difference between the two.

John 15:10-12
10: If you obey my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have obeyed my Father's commands and remain in his love.
11: I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete.
12: My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you.

This is an interesting passage in that we see in verse 10 that it is even true for Jesus that He remains in God the Father's love because He obeys God's commands. While I do not think this is what is being said, because Romans 5:8 (look it up) tells us how God demonstrated His love for us, I do think we need to take it very seriously. In light of verse 11 I believe what Jesus is saying is that when we are obedient to God's commands we are able to experience God's love in a very personal way. When you do something that is pleasing for a person that you respect and admire and you know they are pleased with you, it is a very rewarding feeling knowing that you were a blessing to them and that they are proud of you. We often look at being obedient as a task that we often have to exercise great self discipline in order to accomplish. God says that obedience to His commands actually brings joy to our lives.

John 14:23-24
23: Jesus replied, "If anyone loves me, he will obey my teaching. My Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him.
24: He who does not love me will not obey my teaching.

Many Christians tell me they never sense God's presence in their lives. We tell God that if He will give us a sense of His power presence in our lives we will obey His commands. God says that we need to obey the things His Word teaches and and live them out in our lives and then He will make His home with us.

We cannot say we love God and then not do the things His Word teaches us to do. We cannot apply the label "Christian" to ourselves if we do not love God. We cannot apply the label "Christian" to ourselves if we do not obey God's Word.

Join us on Facebook!Ohio City Community Church of God facebook
© Ohio City Community Church of God, Copyright 2019