Get Adobe Flash player
"For we are
God's workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which
God prepared
in advance
for us to do."
Ephesians 2:10
Service Times
Sunday School: 9:00AM
Worship Service: 10:00AM
Wednesday Programs: 7:00PM
- Youth Group
- Adult Bible Study
- Cross Trainers
  (Grade School)
02/17: The Law Cannot Be Broken, Pt 2
02/10: The Law Cannot Be Broken




Your Daily Sword
419.965.2112    »    204 E Carmean Street Ohio City, Ohio 45874
To sign-up to receive Your Daily
Sword, enter your email address.

Previous Daily Sword Inspirations:

Friday, December 16, 2011
Thursday, December 15, 2011
Wednesday, December 14, 2011
Tuesday, December 13, 2011
Friday, December 9, 2011
Thursday, December 8, 2011
Wednesday, December 7, 2011
Tuesday, December 6, 2011
Friday, December 2, 2011
Thursday, December 1, 2011
Wednesday, November 30, 2011
Tuesday, November 29, 2011
Monday, November 28, 2011
Monday, November 14, 2011
Friday, November 11, 2011
Thursday, November 10, 2011
Wednesday, November 9, 2011
Tuesday, November 8, 2011
Monday, November 7, 2011
Friday, November 4, 2011
Thursday, November 3, 2011
Wednesday, November 2, 2011
Monday, October 31, 2011
Friday, October 28, 2011
Thursday, October 27, 2011
Wednesday, October 26, 2011
Monday, October 24, 2011
Friday, October 21, 2011
Thursday, October 20, 2011
Wednesday, October 19, 2011
Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Monday, October 17, 2011

Friday, December 2, 2011

Ephesians 6:14a, 17
Stand firm.......... Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.


1 John 2:3-5
3: We know that we have come to know him if we obey his commands.
4: The man who says, "I know him," but does not do what he commands is a liar, and the truth is not in him.
5: But if anyone obeys his word, God's love is truly made complete in him. This is how we know we are in him:

Yesterday I wrote about the idea that we need to think about salvation coming to our lives because of our love for God rather than simply our belief in Him. The above passage teaches us that our knowing God is evidenced by our obeying His commands and obeying His commands demonstrates that we love Him. Is knowing God the same as being saved. Paul writes to the Galatians in chapter 5 about knowing God and being known by God and he does so in the context of being freed to our former lives. Paul equates knowing God to being free from the slavery of weak, miserable principles. Paul says that when we are no longer slaves then we have the opportunity to be children of God and heirs to His Kingdom. I think this sounds like knowing God is equivalent to being saved/born-again/Christian.

John says that if we say we know God but do not do what He commands we are liars.

Proverbs 6:16-19
16: There are six things the Lord hates, seven that are detestable to him:
17: haughty eyes, a lying tongue, hands that shed innocent blood,
18: a heart that devises wicked schemes, feet that are quick to rush into evil,
19: a false witness who pours out lies and a man who stirs up dissension among brothers.

God's Word list seven things that He hates, two of the seven have to do with lying. I don't think that anyone God considers a liar has a high probability of being being heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ (Romans 8:17).

1 John 5:2-4
2: This is how we know that we love the children of God: by loving God and carrying out his commands.
3: This is love for God: to obey his commands. And his commands are not burdensome,
4: for everyone born of God overcomes the world.

As verse 3 says, love for God is to obey His commands. If love of God is the foundation of our ability to be saved then you might think I am putting forth some form of salvation by works. I want to be clear on this point, I AM NOT! Obedience to God's commands demonstrates our love of God and our salvation, it does not save us. However, if we are not obedient to His commands can we say that we love Him and therefore put ourselves in a position to be saved.

If obeying God's commands is equivalent to loving Him and His children (other Christians) we need to ask ourselves what are God's commands and am I carrying them out. God's commands do not only consist of things we are to do. God does command us to do certain things like love, serve and witness but He also commands us to grow and mature, become like Jesus, be financially responsible and take care of our families. God also commands us to not do certain things like worry, gossip or be sexually immoral. Of course there are many more commands God has for our lives. Everything that God's Word teaches us is a command whether it uses that term or not. Now of course we cannot perfectly keep all of these. If we could Jesus would not have had to come and die on the cross for our sins. God does however look at the motivation of our hearts. Are we serious about growing as Christians and carrying out the role God has for us in the Body of Christ.

1 Corinthians 12:7
7: Now to each one the manifestation of the Spirit is given for the common good.

1 Peter 4:10
10: Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God's grace in its various forms.

Join us on Facebook!Ohio City Community Church of God facebook
© Ohio City Community Church of God, Copyright 2019