Get Adobe Flash player
"For the kingdom of God is not a matter of talk
but of power."
1 Corinthians 4:20
Service Times
Sunday School: 9:00AM
Worship Service: 10:00AM
Wednesday Programs: 7:00PM
- Youth Group
- Adult Bible Study
- Cross Trainers
  (Grade School)
8/18: Christians Don’t Cling
7/21: What Was Spoken By The Prophet Joel, Pt 5




Your Daily Sword
419.965.2112    »    204 E Carmean Street Ohio City, Ohio 45874
To sign-up to receive Your Daily
Sword, enter your email address.

Previous Daily Sword Inspirations:

Friday, December 16, 2011
Thursday, December 15, 2011
Wednesday, December 14, 2011
Tuesday, December 13, 2011
Friday, December 9, 2011
Thursday, December 8, 2011
Wednesday, December 7, 2011
Tuesday, December 6, 2011
Friday, December 2, 2011
Thursday, December 1, 2011
Wednesday, November 30, 2011
Tuesday, November 29, 2011
Monday, November 28, 2011
Monday, November 14, 2011
Friday, November 11, 2011
Thursday, November 10, 2011
Wednesday, November 9, 2011
Tuesday, November 8, 2011
Monday, November 7, 2011
Friday, November 4, 2011
Thursday, November 3, 2011
Wednesday, November 2, 2011
Monday, October 31, 2011
Friday, October 28, 2011
Thursday, October 27, 2011
Wednesday, October 26, 2011
Monday, October 24, 2011
Friday, October 21, 2011
Thursday, October 20, 2011
Wednesday, October 19, 2011
Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Monday, October 17, 2011

Tuesday, December 6, 2011

Ephesians 6:14a, 17
Stand firm.......... Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.


Matthew 5:14-16
14: "You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden.
15: Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house.
16: In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.

Several times last week I commented on the biblical teaching that a person demonstrates their love for God by being obedient to His commands. Matthew 5:14-16 is a command of the Lord's sandwiched between explanations of why it is important. John 8:12 says that Jesus is the light of the world. Since Jesus ascended to the right hand of God, Christians are now intended to be the light God's light on earth as His Spirit lives in us. Jesus said in John 9:5 that He was only the light while He was in the world and in Acts 13:47 it says that God has made His servants the light to the gentiles. It is clear that in His absence God intends for Christians to shine forth His attributes, message and ministry.

The second half of verse 14 seems to make the point that if we truly have God's Spirit living in us IT CANNOT BE HIDDEN! If God's Spirit in us and the way we live our lives because of that Spirit is not obvious in our lives then we need to examine ourselves and find out what the problem is. Verse 15 goes not to make the point that shinning God's light should be and intentional act on the part of His children. The very purpose for having God's Spirit in the life of a Christian is so that it can shine through them. You do not light a lamp and then cover it so it does not give light, neither do surrender our lives to Jesus become born again by His Spirit and then not use it for the purpose it was given. For what purpose was it given you ask.

Acts 1:8
8: But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you; and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth."

So, verses 14 and 15 explain why it is important to let God's light shine through us, verse 16 then commands us to let God's light shine before men and the last part of verse 16 gives us a further explanation as to why we need to shine for the Lord, so that our Father in heaven receives praise. Verse 16 also makes it understood that we need to let the light shine by doing godly deeds. God shinning through us does not simply happen because we do nothing to dishonor God, we need to be doing ministry in order to glorify the Father.

On the day of Pentecost the Holy Spirit came and rested on believers as a flame of fire. If you have been baptized in the Holy Spirit, then trim your wick and get to blazing. If you have not had the fire of God's Spirit come onto your life, find someone who can teach you let yourself catch fire.

Join us on Facebook!Ohio City Community Church of God facebook
© Ohio City Community Church of God, Copyright 2019