Get Adobe Flash player
"Beloved, I
pray that you may prosper in all things and be in health, just as your soul prospers."
3 John 2
Service Times
Sunday School: 9:00AM
Worship Service: 10:00AM
Wednesday Programs: 7:00PM
- Youth Group
- Adult Bible Study
- Cross Trainers
  (Grade School)
4/14: Identification - Palm Sunday
4/07: Know Who You Are In Christ, Pt 2




Your Daily Sword
419.965.2112    »    204 E Carmean Street Ohio City, Ohio 45874
To sign-up to receive Your Daily
Sword, enter your email address.

Previous Daily Sword Inspirations:

Friday, December 16, 2011
Thursday, December 15, 2011
Wednesday, December 14, 2011
Tuesday, December 13, 2011
Friday, December 9, 2011
Thursday, December 8, 2011
Wednesday, December 7, 2011
Tuesday, December 6, 2011
Friday, December 2, 2011
Thursday, December 1, 2011
Wednesday, November 30, 2011
Tuesday, November 29, 2011
Monday, November 28, 2011
Monday, November 14, 2011
Friday, November 11, 2011
Thursday, November 10, 2011
Wednesday, November 9, 2011
Tuesday, November 8, 2011
Monday, November 7, 2011
Friday, November 4, 2011
Thursday, November 3, 2011
Wednesday, November 2, 2011
Monday, October 31, 2011
Friday, October 28, 2011
Thursday, October 27, 2011
Wednesday, October 26, 2011
Monday, October 24, 2011
Friday, October 21, 2011
Thursday, October 20, 2011
Wednesday, October 19, 2011
Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Monday, October 17, 2011

Wednesday, December 14, 2011

Ephesians 6:14a, 17
Stand firm.......... Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.


1 Corinthians 13:9-10, 12
9: For we know in part and we prophesy in part,
10: but when perfection comes, the imperfect disappears.......
12: Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

A friend of mine recently emailed me and said, "If I ever figure out the bible I am going to have a real bad headache!" As we see in 1 Corinthians 13:9-10, 12, until perfection comes we only have partial knowledge of the things of God. As I like to say, "the last time I looked, perfection had not shown up". As I have studied it out, I believe the perfection referred to is the second coming of Jesus. If anyone tells you they understand the bible completely or they have perfect theology they are being un-biblical. The problem is not with the bible, the problem is man's. People want to interpret God's perfect Word in the context of their flawed, imperfect and disobedient lives. God's Word is not meant to fit into our existence, we are meant to align our lives with God's Word.

2 Timothy 3:16
16: All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness:

As we can see in 2 Timothy 3:16 all of the bible is inspired by God and it is meant to teach, correct and instruct us on how to righteous, or in other words meet God's standard. Most people want to try to understand the bible according to their standards rather than let the bible speak for itself and then submit their lives to its authority. The bible will never make sense when we want to apply our fallen, human understanding to it. Scripture interprets scripture, not man.

2 Peter 1:20-21
20: Above all, you must understand that no prophecy of Scripture came about by the prophet's own interpretation.
21: For prophecy (scripture) never had its origin in the will of man, but men spoke from God as they were carried along by the Holy Spirit.

As we see in 2 Peter 1:20-21, scripture may have been written down by men but they wrote what the Spirit of God instructed them to write. It is actually possible to show that what we have as the bible today is inspired by God and accurate over the centuries of translation however, we do not have the time for that. If you really want to study it there is plenty of material available. We also see that scripture does not reflect man's will but God's and needs to be understood accordingly.

Why do even Christians disagree about what the bible says? There are two main reasons. The first and probably the most problematic is that people come at the bible with their own agendas. If you do this you will always find a passage of scripture to make it say what you want it to. The second is that many people do not understand that you need to interpret scripture in context or what that even means. For more understanding on this topic you can study what is known as "exegesis". Another reason that I do not categorize with the first two reasons is the bible is a living document.

Hebrews 4:12
12: For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.

Often times what Christians understand the bible to say is not incorrect but simply incomplete. Because the bible is "living and active" it reveals understanding to us dependent on what we need to receive from it at a certain time. If God's Word deals with my soul (my intellect, emotions & will) as well as revealing my thoughts and attitudes, they are different from time to time. The truth of God's Word never changes but the aspect we see it from, its application and depth of insight is different at various times in our lives. One thing I know for sure, if we are going to understand God's Word at all we have to have God's Spirit.

1 Corinthians 2:14
14: The man without the Spirit does not accept the things that come from the Spirit of God, for they are foolishness to him, and he cannot understand them, because they are spiritually discerned

Not only can we not understand God's Word fully, the more we study and gain insight we realize the percentage of what we do know compared to what can be learned from the bible gets smaller. With each new insight gained you suddenly realize there are five more things you don't understand.

Most people don't know or understand themselves. We often don't know why we do what we do or feel the way we feel. 1 Corinthians 13:12 concludes by saying, "even as we are fully known". You don't need to figure out all of the bible, you need to let the bible figure you out.

Join us on Facebook!Ohio City Community Church of God facebook
© Ohio City Community Church of God, Copyright 2019