Get Adobe Flash player
"Beloved, I
pray that you may prosper in all things and be in health, just as your soul prospers."
3 John 2
Service Times
Sunday School: 9:00AM
Worship Service: 10:00AM
Wednesday Programs: 7:00PM
- Youth Group
- Adult Bible Study
- Cross Trainers
  (Grade School)
4/14: Identification - Palm Sunday
4/07: Know Who You Are In Christ, Pt 2




Your Daily Sword
419.965.2112    »    204 E Carmean Street Ohio City, Ohio 45874
To sign-up to receive Your Daily
Sword, enter your email address.

Previous Daily Sword Inspirations:

Friday, December 16, 2011
Thursday, December 15, 2011
Wednesday, December 14, 2011
Tuesday, December 13, 2011
Friday, December 9, 2011
Thursday, December 8, 2011
Wednesday, December 7, 2011
Tuesday, December 6, 2011
Friday, December 2, 2011
Thursday, December 1, 2011
Wednesday, November 30, 2011
Tuesday, November 29, 2011
Monday, November 28, 2011
Monday, November 14, 2011
Friday, November 11, 2011
Thursday, November 10, 2011
Wednesday, November 9, 2011
Tuesday, November 8, 2011
Monday, November 7, 2011
Friday, November 4, 2011
Thursday, November 3, 2011
Wednesday, November 2, 2011
Monday, October 31, 2011
Friday, October 28, 2011
Thursday, October 27, 2011
Wednesday, October 26, 2011
Monday, October 24, 2011
Friday, October 21, 2011
Thursday, October 20, 2011
Wednesday, October 19, 2011
Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Monday, October 17, 2011

Friday, December 16, 2011

Ephesians 6:14a, 17
Stand firm.......... Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.


1 John 3:19-23
19: This then is how we know that we belong to the truth, and how we set our hearts at rest in his presence
20: whenever our hearts condemn us. For God is greater than our hearts, and he knows everything.
21: Dear friends, if our hearts do not condemn us, we have confidence before God
22: and receive from him anything we ask, because we obey his commands and do what pleases him.
23: And this is his command: to believe in the name of his Son, Jesus Christ, and to love one another as he commanded us.

Yesterday we talked about not doubting when we have a request for God. If we do, He says that is double-mindedness. In this passage we see another factor in receiving what we ask for from God. What do we think of ourselves. Do we believe that God has perfect, limitless love for us. Rational people understand that they have been disobedient to God so we often have a hard time believing that God will do what we ask of Him. Are we condemned by our own hearts? Many of us frequently struggle with feelings of guilt, condemnation, self-criticism or worthiness. We do not have faith because our hearts condemn us. The good news is according to verse 20 God is greater than our hearts. Whatever negative image you have of yourself, God is able to overcome it. Whatever things you have done that would cause you to feel unworthy of receiving God's blessings, His grace is greater than our failures.

Verse 21 describes how when we receive God's gift of grace shown to us by Jesus' sacrifice on the cross, we realize there is no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus (Romans 8:1). Without self-condemnation we have confidence that God will hear and answer us because we have come into obedience.

Verse 23 explains how we are obedient, believe in Jesus and love others. Don't forget all that we learned two weeks ago. Believing in Jesus does not mean an intellectual agreement, it means we do what He taught us to do.

John 14:23
23: Jesus replied, "If anyone loves me, he will obey my teaching.

God is not unlike any other parent. What pleases parents most about their children? Their obedience.

1 Samuel 15:22
22: But Samuel replied: "Does the Lord delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices as much as in obeying the voice of the Lord? To obey is better than sacrifice,

Sacrifices are to make up for wrongs we have committed. Any parent would prefer their children not disobey in the first place. They would rather have obedience than have their child say, I'm sorry. When we have to say I'm sorry to God it is because we know we have been disobedient to Him. When we are obedient we do not have a guilty conscious and no reason to worry about our relationship with God.

If you have something that is a part of your life that you know is not pleasing to God, turn away from it and tell God you are sorry and know that God is greater than any guilt you have. After the disobedience is taken care of, believe in Jesus, love one another and obey His commands. When your life is pleasing to God you can be confident to receive from Him anything you ask.

Join us on Facebook!Ohio City Community Church of God facebook
© Ohio City Community Church of God, Copyright 2019